Small Brewpub of the Year

Posted by · Iron Hill | Posted ·

Small Brewpub of the Year

Every year brewers from all over the world travel to a different city in the US to attend the Craft Brewers Conference. A four day event that revolves around classes about all things beer and a convention floor that features all the latest in brewing technology.
Every other year at the CBC the week culminates in the World Beer Cup which is an international beer competition where 95 different styles are judged and overall awards for the Best Brewery and Brewpub large and small are awarded.


In 2010, at the Chicago CBC Iron Hill Brewery was proud to be named Small Brewpub of the Year and we held this title for the past two years. Last week we headed to beautiful, sunny San Diego for this years Conference and World Beer Cup to meet fellow brewers from around the world, attend classes, visit breweries, enjoy some local beer, and defend our title.

Last Saturday, after a fun filled week, all of our brewers got dressed up for the World Beer Cup gala dinner, wondering if this was the last time we could claim the title of” Best Small Brewpub in the World.”

After an elegant 4 course beer dinner paired with great beers, they began to announce the winners for this years World Beer Cup, this is when all the brewers in the room get real quiet and nervous.  As we clapped and cheered for our friends and local brewers, we waited for our categories to be announced. Category #23 German Smoked beers came up and Newark’s Grodzinski was awarded a Bronze medal. The table went crazy, everyone congratulating the brewer Justin Sproul and the tension was lifted. We waited through many different categories, until we got to the English Imperial Stout category, Media brewer Bob Barrar’s specialty. Bronze, no Silver no, Gold Iron Hill!! As we all celebrated and Bob went up to the stage to receive his award, his Old Ale was awarded another gold medal!!

After all 95 categories winners were announced we waited for the Best Large and Small Brewey and Brewpubs of the Year to be announced. Best Small Brewpub- Iron Hill Brewery!!!

Everyone jumped around like crazy, hugging each other and yelling, and then we made our way to the stage to receive the award and take pictures with the other winners. Another great year for Iron Hill

Congratulations to Justin Sproul of Newark, and Bob Barrar of Media for their awards, and to Scott Morrison that received Dock Street Brewing first medal in 20 years, and to everyone that received awards that night.

Back to Blog Archive
Takeout & Delivery

Takeout & Delivery

Available at all locations

Order Now
Slide into Our All New Hoppy Hour

Slide into Our All New Hoppy Hour

$3, $6, $9 Food Specials

Learn More

Reserve a Table